European Union Prize for Literature announces 2021 shortlist

  • 15/04/2021

EUPL reveals 55 authors and books from 14 participating countries shortlisted for the 2021 European Union Prize for Literature 


The European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) recognises emerging fiction writers from across Europe. The award includes 41 countries which are part of the Creative Europe programme – an initiative aiming to strengthen Europe’s cultural and creative sectors. The EUPL was launched in 2009, and since then recognised 135 winning authors through 12 editions. Each year, the EUPL awards one winner per country from a third of participating countries. This year's edition will award winners from 14 countries: Albania, Armenia, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Iceland, Latvia, Malta, Moldova, the Netherlands, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia, Sweden, Tunisia.




The winners of the EUPL 2021 edition will be announced on 18 May in a digital event. 


Discover the full shortlist here. 


EUPL is organised by the consortium comprised of European Writers' Council (EWC), Federation of European Publishers (FEP), and the European and International Booksellers Federation (EIBF).