European Union Prize for Literature Announces the 2021 Laureates

  • 18/05/2021

We're excited to reveal 13 new laureates of the EUPL 2021 edition 


The European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) recognises emerging fiction writers from the European Union and beyond. Engaging the 41 countries participating in the Creative Europe programme of the European Union, the Prize celebrates 41 outstanding new literary talents across a cycle of three years. Spotlighting the creativity and the immense and diverse wealth of Europe’s contemporary literature in the field of fiction, EUPL aims to promote the circulation of literature within Europe and encourage greater interest in non-national literary works. The 2021 edition awarded thirteen laureates from the countries participating in this cycle. 




We are pleased to announce this year’s thirteen laureates:

•    Albania: Enkel Demi (pen name Tom Kuka), Flama (Calamity), Publisher: Botime Pegi.
•    Armenia: Արամ Պաչյան (Aram Pachyan), P/F (P/F), Publisher: Էջ հրատարակչություն (Edge publishing house).
•    Bulgaria: Георги Бърдаров (Georgi Bardarov), Absolvo te (Absolvo te), Publisher: Musagena.
•    Czech Republic: Lucie Faulerová, Smrtholka (Deathmaiden), Publisher: Nakladatelství TORST.
•    Iceland: Sigrún Pálsdóttir, Delluferðin (Runaround), Publisher: Forlagið útgáfa (JPV).
•    Latvia: Laura Vinogradova, Upe (The River), Publisher: Zvaizgne ABC.
•    Malta: Lara Calleja, Kissirtu kullimkien (You Have Destroyed Everything), Publisher: Merlin Publishers.
•    Netherlands: Gerda Blees, Wij zijn licht (We are light), Publisher: Uitgeverij Podium.
•    Portugal: Frederico Pedreira, A Lição do Sonâmbulo (The Sleepwalker Lesson), Publisher: Companhia das Ilhas.
•    Serbia: Dejan Tiago Stanković, Zamalek (Zamalek), Publisher: Laguna.
•    Slovenia: Anja Mugerli, Čebelja družina (Bee Family), Publisher: Cankarjeva založba.
•    Sweden: Maxim Grigoriev, Europa (Europe), Publisher: Albert Bonniers Förlag.
•    Tunisia: أمين الغزي (Amine Al Ghozzi), زندالي ليلة 14 جانفي 2011 (Zindali, the night of 14 january 2011), Publisher: زينب للنّشر و التوزيع (Editions Zayneb).


The 2021 laureate for each country was selected by a national jury of experts in the fields of literature, publishing and bookselling. The 13 winning books and authors were revealed during a video broadcast on 18 May at 2:00 PM CEST. Their names were individually announced by a representative of each national jury.


Find out more.


The EUPL is organised by a Consortium of associations comprising the European Writers' Council (EWC), the Federation of European Publishers (FEP), and the European and International Booksellers Federation (EIBF), with the support of the European Commission.